168 of 1001 Albums: The Velvet Underground’s Self Titled

History
This album makes it on Rolling Stones’ Greatest Albums of All Time List, and marked a softer sound from the band from their previous albums. After White Light/White Heat, Lou Reed thought it would be a mistake to record a similar album. He wanted to branch out to show the band’s diversity. It was their first album from MGM records. 
My Thoughts
This is definitely a more mellow attempt than when I last heard The Velvet Underground. They’ve become one of my favorites though, so it’s difficult for them to disappoint me though. There are some good standouts on this album though like “Pale Blue Eyes”. It’s so mellow, but something about it pulls you in.  I personally do prefer the other sounds of the other albums, but I still found this one enjoyable to listen to too. It was also a suiting album for today that was hectic and needed a mellow album to tone it down.
Rating 4 of 5.

Leave a comment